Frequently asked questions

Q. What happens to my retired Microsoft Certified Systems Engineer certification
A. The Microsoft Certified Systems Engineer certification remains on your tran script  and may be designated a Legacy certification.
Note: This technology is no longer supported by Microsoft mainstream support. We recommend that you pursue a certification on current technology.
Q. What is the recertification requirement for all MCSE specialties released prior to September 2016?
A. To recertify your MCSE certification, you must pass the applicable recertification exam once every three years.
Recertification exams cover material from the exams taken to originally earn the credential, with particular emphasis on the most recent product and process changes.
Q. Is there an upgrade path for me if I was working toward an existing MCSE certification but have not yet earned it?
A. All individuals who have passed a qualifying elective exam since January 1, 2016, will be granted the corresponding new MCSE certification for 2016, without the need to take additional exams, if they have met all exam requirements.
Q. Is there an upgrade path for me if I have previously earned an MCSE certification

A. To recognize your efforts in keeping your exist ing MCSE certification up-to-date, all individuals with active MCSE certifications from the following list will earn the corresponding new MCSE certification for 2016, without the need to take additional exams:

  • MCSE: Server Infrastructure
  • MCSE: Private Cloud
  • MCSE: Data Platform
  • MCSE: Business Intelligence
  • MCSE: Enterprise Devices and Apps
  • MCSE: SharePoint
  • MCSE: Communication
  • MCSE: Messaging


Q. What happens to the MCSE certifications that I earned prior to September 2016
A. All MCSE certifications released prior to September 2016 will be retired on March 31, 2017.
All active MCSE certifications remain active on your tran script until retirement of the corresponding technologies, at which point the certifications are moved to the Legacy section of your tran script.
Q. What is the difference between the new MCSE specialties, introduced in September 2016, and the existing ones?
A. The new MCSE certifications (MCSE: Cloud Platform and Infrastructure, MCSE: Mobility, MCSE: Data Management and Analytics, MCSE: Productivity) are aligned to Centers of Excellence, used by the Microsoft Partner Network to identify technical competencies that are widely recognizable by both Microsoft partners and customers. These credentials do not have a recertification requirement. Instead, the achievement date signifies how you keep up with changes to the technology. Every year, you have the opportunity to re-earn the certification by passing an exam from the list of electives, demonstrating your investment in broadening or deepening your skills in a given Center of Excellence. Each time you earn the certification, a new certification entry is added to your tran script. This process replaces the exist ing recertification requirement of taking a specific recertification exam every three years to prevent your certification from going inactive.
Copyright © 2018